Thursday, March 01, 2012

Full list of 2012 American Academy of Microbiology Fellows Announced

Just got this email and well, I thought I would share.  I would share even if I was not on the list since, well, I love microbes and microbiology.  Note the list is also available on the AAM Web site here.

The American Academy of Microbiology is honored to welcome these new Fellows, elected in recognition of their records of scientific achievement and original contributions that have advanced microbiology:
  • James B. Anderson, Ph.D., University of Toronto, Mississauga, ON, Canada
  • Dan I. Andersson, Ph.D., Uppsala University, Sweden
  • Raul Andino, Ph.D., University of California, San Francisco
  • Brenda J. Andrews, Ph.D., University of Toronto, BC, Canada
  • Charles Barlowe, Ph.D., Dartmouth Medical School, Hanover, NH
  • Joel B. Baseman, Ph.D., University of Texas Health Science Center, San Antonio
  • Ruth L. Berkelman, M.D., Emory University, Atlanta, GA
  • Robert E. Blankenship, Ph.D., Washington University, St. Louis
  • James B. Bliska, Ph.D., Stony Brook University, NY
  • Kerry S. Bloom, Ph.D., University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
  • Jef D. Boeke, Ph.D., D. Sc., Johns Hopkins School of Medicine, Baltimore, MD
  • Charles M. Boone, Ph.D., University of Toronto, BC, Canada
  • Stephen Buratowski, Ph.D., Harvard Medical School, Boston, MA
  • George Church, Ph.D., Harvard Medical School, Boston, MA
  • Daniel G. Colley, Ph.D., University of Georgia, Athens
  • Patricia A. Conrad, Ph.D., D.V.M., University of California, Davis
  • Ross E. Dalbey, Ph.D., Ohio State University, Columbus
  • Roger J. Davis, Ph.D., Howard Hughes Medical Institute and University of Massachusetts Medical School, Worester
  • Piet A.J. de Boer, Ph.D., Case Western Reserve University School of Medicine, Cleveland, OH
  • Mark R. Denison, M.D., Vanderbilt University Medical Center, Nashville, TN
  • Shou-Wei Ding, Ph.D., University of California, Riverside
  • Jonathan Eisen, Ph.D., University of California, Davis
  • Luis Enjuanes, Ph.D., National Center of Biotechnology-Spanish National Research Council (CNB-CSIC), Campus Universidad Autonoma, Madrid, Spain
  • Tom Fenchel, Ph.D., D. Sc., University of Copenhagen, Denmark
  • Robert L. Garcea, M.D., University of Colorado, Boulder
  • Reid Gilmore, Ph.D., University of Massachusetts Medical School, Worcester
  • Douglas T. Golenbock, M.D., University of Massachusetts Medical School, Worcester
  • Robert M. Goodman, Ph.D., School of Environmental and Biological Sciences, Rutgers University, New Brunswick, NJ
  • Daniel E. Gottschling, Ph.D., Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center, Seattle, WA
  • Glenda Gray, M.B. B.Ch., F.C. Paeds., Perinatal HIV Research Unit, Baragwanath Academic Hospital, Soweto and University of the Witwatersrand, Johannesburg, South Africa
  • F. Ulrich Hartl, M.D., Dr. Med., Dr. Med. Habil, Max Planck Institute of Biochemistry, Martinsried, Germany
  • Regine Hengge, Ph.D., Freie Universit├Ąt Berlin, Germany
  • John E. Heuser, M.D., Washington University, St. Louis and Kyoto University, Japan
  • Wolf-Dietrich Heyer, Ph.D., University of California, Davis
  • Edward A. Hoover, D.V.M., Ph.D., Colorado State University, Fort Collins
  • Barbara J. Howlett, Ph.D., The University of Melbourne, Australia
  • Philip Hugenholtz, Ph.D., University of Queensland, St. Lucia, Australia
  • James M. Hughes, M.D., Emory University School of Medicine, Atlanta, GA
  • Eric Hunter, Ph.D., Emory University, Atlanta, GA
  • Regine Kahmann, Ph.D., Max Planck Institute for Terrestrial Microbiology, Marburg, Germany
  • Albert Z. Kapikian, M.D., NIAID, NIH, Bethesda, MD
  • Patrick Keeling, Ph.D., University of British Columbia, Vancouver, Canada
  • Karla Kirkegaard, Ph.D., Stanford University, CA
  • Eugene V. Koonin, Ph.D., NCBI, NLM, NIH, Bethesda, MD
  • Thomas M. Kristie, Ph.D., National Institutes of Health, Bethesda, MD
  • Nirbhay Kumar, Ph.D., Tulane University, New Orleans, LA
  • Ching Kung, Ph.D., University of Wisconsin, Madison
  • Jean-Paul Latge, Ph.D., Institut Pasteur, Paris, France
  • Jeffrey G. Lawrence, Ph.D., University of Pittsburgh, PA
  • Jared R. Leadbetter, Ph.D., California Institute of Technology, Pasadena, CA
  • Maxine L. Linial, Ph.D., Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center, Seattle, WA
  • Alison McBride, Ph.D., NIH, Bethesda, MD
  • Xiang-Jin Meng, M.D., Ph.D, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University, Blacksburg, VA
  • Hiroaki Mitsuya, M.D., Ph.D., National Cancer Institute, NIH, Bethesda, MD
  • Edward Mocarski, Jr., Ph.D., Stanford University School of Medicine, CA
  • Jens Nielsen, Ph.D., Dr. Technology, Chalmers University of Technology, Gothenburg, Sweden
  • Victor Nizet, M.D., University of California, San Diego
  • Paul A. Offit, M.D., Children's Hospital of Philadelphia, PA
  • Joseph S. Pagano, M.D., University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
  • Julian Parkhill, Ph.D., The Sanger Institute, Cambridge, United Kingdom
  • Robin Patel, M.D., Mayo Clinic, Rochester, MN
  • John T. Patton, Ph.D., NIAID, NIH, Bethesda, MD
  • Martin Polz, Ph.D., Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge
  • Markus Ribbe, Ph.D., University of California, Irvine
  • Naomi Rosenberg, Ph.D., Tufts University, Boston, MA
  • Eric J. Rubin, M.D., Ph.D., Harvard School of Public Health, Boston, MA
  • Peter Sarnow, Ph.D., Stanford University School of Medicine, CA
  • Christa M. Schleper, Ph.D., University of Vienna, Austria
  • Olaf Schneewind, M.D., Ph.D., University of Chicago, IL
  • David M. Serwadda, M.B.ChB., M. Med., M.P.H., Makerere University School of Public Health, Kampala, Uganda
  • Eric J. Snijder, Ph.D., Leiden University Medical Center, Netherlands
  • Roger E. Summons, Ph.D., Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge
  • Michele S. Swanson, Ph.D., University of Michigan Medical School, Ann Arbor, MI
  • Rudolf K. Thauer, Dr. rer. nat., Max Planck Institute for Terrestrial Microbiology, Marburg, Germany
  • Kenneth L. Tyler, M.D., University of Colorado School of Medicine, Denver
  • Rytas Vilgalys, Ph.D., Duke University, Durham, NC
  • Peter R. Williamson, M.D., Ph.D., NIAID, NIH, Bethesda, MD
  • Thomas A. Wynn, Ph.D., NIAID, Bethesda, MD
  • X. Sunney Xie, Ph.D., Harvard University, Cambridge, MA
  • Arturo Zychlinsky, Ph.D., Max Planck Institute for Infection Biology, Berlin, Germany
We hope that you will join us in welcoming the new Fellows at the Fellows Luncheon and Meeting at the General Meeting in San Francisco on June 19th. 
Sincerely yours,
Bonnie L. Bassler, Ph.D. 
Chair, Board of Governors 
American Academy of Microbiology

1 comment:

Most recent post

My Ode to Yolo Bypass

Gave my 1st ever talk about Yolo Bypass and my 1st ever talk about Nature Photography. Here it is ...