Saturday, March 20, 2010

Phyloseminar.Org 3/29 Streaming talk by Jens Lagergren on Gene Family evolution

Just got his email from the organizer of Phyloseminar.Org:

On March 29th, phyloseminar.org will present Jens Lagergren speaking
on "Probabilistic analysis of gene families with respect with gene
duplication, gene loss, and lateral gene transfer." Abstract below.

NOTE: the seminar will begin at 10h PST, which is three hours earlier
than the previous seminars.

This is 13h Eastern Standard Time, 19h Central European Time, and 6h
in Christchurch and Auckland!

Here's the abstract:

Incongruences between gene trees and corresponding species trees are
common. Gene duplication, gene loss, and lateral gene transfer are
three types of evolutionary events that can cause such incongruences.
I will first describe a probabilistic process that contains standard
models of nucleotide substitutions (i.e., such that underly
probabilistic methods for phylogenetic tree reconstruction) as well as
gene duplication and gene loss. This process takes place in a given
species tree and can be used to reconstruct a gene tree for a gene
family of interest and simultaneously reconcile the gene tree with the
species tree. I will describe the algorithms available for this model
and also describe how they perform on biological data compared to
competing methods. Finally, I will describe an extension of this model
that also contains lateral gene transfer and show how it performs on
synthetic data.


Hope to see you there!

No comments:

Post a Comment