Saturday, June 16, 2012

Collecting links to blogs that focus entirely or partly on microbiology topics #ASM2012

Making a list of blogs that focus entirely or partly on microbiology topics.  Here are some.  Would love suggestions for others. Obviously not all are of equal quality in terms of the writing or the science but the diversity is impressive.
  1. Aetiology from Tara Smith scienceblogs.com/aetiology
  2. A Flu Diary http://afludiary.blogspot.com/
  3. AIDS.GOV blog.aids.gov/
  4. Antibiotics: the perfect storm from David Shlaes antibiotics-theperfectstorm.blogspot.com/
  5. Antimicrobial Resistance from Miriam Barlow antimicrobial.blogspot.com
  6. Aspergillus Website Blog aspergillusblog.blogspot.com/
  7. Avian Flu Diary afludiary.blogspot.com/
  8. BacterioFiles from Jesse Noar bacteriofiles.blogspot.com
  9. Bacpathogenomics bacpathgenomics.wordpress.com/
  10. Bacteriophage, microbiology and the battle for funding from Philip Skipper phageresearch.blogs.lincoln.ac.uk/
  11. BioBE center Blog: biobe.uoregon.edu/
  12. Blastocystis Blog: blastocystisblog.blogspot.com/
  13. Barf Blog barfblog.foodsafety.ksu.edu/barfblog 
  14. Chimeras chimerasthebooks.blogspot.com/
  15. CoastalPathogens coastalpathogens.wordpress.com/
  16. Contagions from Michelle Ziegler contagions.wordpress.com
  17. Controversies in Hospital Infection Prevention haicontroversies.blogspot.com/
  18. Creepy Deadly Wonderful Parasites parasitewonders.blogspot.com/
  19. Curiosidades de la Microbiología curiosidadesdelamicrobiologia.bl...
  20. Cyanobacterial Adventures cyanobacterialadventures.blogspot.com/
  21. Daily Parasite dailyparasite.blogspot.com/
  22. Daniel Wilson's Blog blog.danielwilson.me.uk/
  23. Dawn in Antarctica dawninantarctica.blogspot.com/
  24. El buit del temps blocs.mesvilaweb.cat/bloc/view/id/5664
  25. End the Neglect endtheneglect.org/
  26. Epidemonomics www.cddep.org/blog
  27. ERV from Abbie Smith scienceblogs.com/erv/
  28. Food Poison Journal www.foodpoisonjournal.com/
  29. Food Safety and Environmental Health blog www.safefoodsblog.com/
  30. Foraminifera Blog foraminifer.blogspot.com/
  31. Fun with Microbiology (What's Buggin' You?) http://thunderhouse4-yuri.blogspot.com/
  32. History of Vaccines www.historyofvaccines.org/blog
  33. HIV This Week http://hivthisweek.unaids.org/
  34. Hospital Infection Control and Prevention hicprevent.blogs.ahcmedia.com/
  35. Human Microbiome Journal Club hmjournalclub.wordpress.com/
  36. Indian Initiative for Management of Antibiotic Resistance save-antibiotics.blogspot.com/
  37. Infection Landscapes infectionlandscapes.org
  38. Infectious Diseases Today bactiman63.blogspot.com/
  39. International AIDS Vaccine Initiative www.iavireport.org/IRblog/default.aspx 
  40. It's a small world fuckyeahmicrobiology.tumblr.com/
  41. Jason Tetro at the Huffington Post www.huffingtonpost.ca/jason-tetro/ *
  42. JHU Phage Hunters jhuphagehunters.wordpress.com/
  43. Lab Rat blogs.scientificamerican.com/lab...
  44. mBIO mbioblog.asm.org/mbiosphere
  45. Malaria World malariaworld.org/blog
  46. Matryoshka from Jeff Smith matryoshka.org/
  47. Memory Reactivation memoryreactivation.wordpress.com/
  48. Memoirs of a Defective Brain defectivebrain.fieldofscience.com/
  49. microbelog microbelog.wordpress.com/
  50. MicroBichitos blogs.elpais.com/microbichitos
  51. Microbial Diversity from Irene Newton microdiv.blogspot.com/
  52. microBEnet blog from Jonathan Eisen, David Coil, Holly Bik www.microbe.net/microbenet-blog/ 
  53. Microbe Matters from KD Shives http://kdshives.com
  54. Microbiology Bytes from AJ Cann microbiologybytes.com/blog
  55. Microblogology from Lorraine Cramer  microblogology.com/
  56. Microbiology Stories bacteriastories.blogspot.com/
  57. Mike the Mad Biologist mikethemadbiologist.com/
  58. Miss Parasitos missparasitos.blogspot.com/  AND missparasitesinenglish.blogspot.com/
  59. Monotreme's Blog monotreme1000.wordpress.com/ *
  60. MyChrobial Romance from David Baltrus mychrobialromance.blogspot.com/
  61. Mycorant mycorant.com
  62. MycorWeb Fungal Genomics mycor.nancy.inra.fr/blogGenomes
  63. Mystery Rays from Outer Space www.iayork.com/MysteryRays/
  64. Not Exactly Rocket Science from Ed Yong blogs.discovermagazine.com/notrocketscience/
  65. Of Bacteria and Men from Robin Tecon ofbacteriaandmen.blogspot.com/
  66. One in Seven People http://oneinsevenpeople.co.uk/
  67. Outbreak News outbreaknews.com/
  68. Parasite of the Day dailyparasite.blogspot.com/
  69. Parasites http://www.rosemarydrisdelle.com/
  70. Pathogens, Genes and Genomes pathogenomics.bham.ac.uk/blog
  71. Pharmaceutical Microbiology by Tim Sandle pharmig.blogspot.com/
  72. Public Health Matters from the CDC blogs.cdc.gov/publichealthmatters/
  73. Rapid Microbiology Methods rapidmicromethods.com/ 
  74. RRResearch from Rosie Redfield rrresearch.blogspot.com
  75. Rule of 6ix from Connor Bamford ruleof6ix.fieldofscience.com
  76. Russell's Blog from Russell Neches vort.org/
  77. Safe Food from John Brooks foodsafetywithjaybee.blogspot.com/
  78. Skeptic Wonder skepticwonder.fieldofscience.com
  79. Skewed Distribution skeweddistribution.com/
  80. Small Things Considered schaechter.asmblog.org/schaechter
  81. Smaller Questions www.smallerquestions.org/
  82. Sociobiology sociobiology.wordpress.com/
  83. Spirochetes Unwound spirochetesunwound.blogspot.com
  84. Superbug wired.com/wiredscience/superbug
  85. Superbugs and Drugs superbugsanddrugs.blogspot.com/
  86. Stringent Response stringentresponse.blogspot.com/
  87. Symbionticism from Seth Bordenstein symbionticism.blogspot.com/
  88. The Artful Amoeba blogs.scientificamerican.com/art...
  89. The Febrile Muse febrilemuse-infectious-disease.blogspot.com/
  90. The Genome Factory thegenomefactory.blogspot.com/
  91. The "Germ Guy" Blog: germguy.wordpress.com/
  92. The Hyphal Tip by Jason Stajich fungalgenomes.org/blog
  93. The Intestinal Gardner intestinalgardener.blogspot.com/
  94. The Loom from Carl Zimmer blogs.discovermagazine.com/loom
  95. The Oceloid from PSI Wavefunction blogs.scientificamerican.com/oceloid
  96. The Parasite Diary parasitediary.wordpress.com/
  97. The Tree of Life from Jonathan Eisen phylogenomics.blogspot.com
  98. Ultraphyte from Joan Slonczewski ultraphyte.com/
  99. We Beasties from Kevin Bonham scienceblogs.com/webeasties/
  100. The View from a Microbiologist from Samantha Price theviewfromamicrobiologist.fieldofscience.com/
  101. Viroblogy from Ed Rybicki http://rybicki.wordpress.com/
  102. Virology Blog from Vincent Racaniello virology.ws
  103. Viral Bioinformatics from Chris Upton athena.bioc.uvic.ca/blog/
  104. Worms and Germs www.wormsandgermsblog.com/
  105. Zoonotica zoonotica.wordpress.com
Podcasts and Videocasts

Not screened yet but considering adding to the above list
To add to list
Other stuff about microbes but not quite bloggy enough for my list above
Microbiology related blogs that are appear to be no longer active or very rarely active
Twitter lists
Paper.lis
Scoop.It
Science Blogs Networks that might have some microbial content not listed above

13 comments:

  1. microBEnet
    http://www.microbe.net/

    ReplyDelete
  2. http://animal-epidemics.blogspot.co.uk

    Perhaps?

    ReplyDelete
  3. There is a curated Microbiology in Social Media collection on Webicina. http://www.webicina.com/microbiology/

    ReplyDelete
  4. Some other good microbiology blogs are:

    www.facebook.com/microbiologynews

    and www.wisciblog.com/category/microbiology/

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Not sure either of those are what I am looking for. The Facebook page is more like a collection of links (which are interesting mind you but not really a blog). And the wisciblog is more like PRs for Wiley (again, interesting but not quite right for this list). I am going to make an additional list below for "of interest" ...

      Delete
  5. The german outbreak E.coli 2011 crowdsourcing blog?

    https://github.com/ehec-outbreak-crowdsourced/BGI-data-analysis/wiki

    ReplyDelete
  6. Here is one to check out http://legionella.tumblr.com

    ReplyDelete
  7. www.micromicrobe.co.uk?

    ReplyDelete
  8. Would you consider adding my newly developing blog? It is denaaruta.com. Thank you.

    Dena Aruta

    ReplyDelete
  9. Hello,
    The link for Pharmaceutical Microbiology has changed. It is now: http://www.pharmamicroresources.com/
    Thanks,
    Tim Sandle

    ReplyDelete